What Did I Just Read?!

To find new books, I tend to listen to the All The Books podcast by BookRiot. My dog Raina and I listen on our nearly daily walks as they share new book releases and books from back-lists that they enjoyed.

20170520_193642.jpg

This book, Behind Her Eyes, caught my attention during one of the podcasts, and I added it to my wishlist at the public library. Noticing that it was wait-listed, I added my name. “Oooh,” I thought. “Lot’s of people want this book, so it must be as good as Liberty said it was!”

Um, yeah.

So, there are comparisons of this book to Gone Girl…I guess so…only in the psychological sense. It also reminded me a little of The Girl on the Train– perhaps because it is set in the UK, or that the main character, Louise, is a lovelorn, wounded ex-wife on the fringes of someone else’s relationship as Emma was. What drew me to this book was Liberty’s admission that despite being great at figuring out mysteries before the reveal, this one she did not see coming, and that in no way would anyone else be able to figure it out.

Challenge accepted.

So the premise is of Louise, recently divorced and a single mom, who meets a charming married man at a bar one night. Nothing too untoward happens, and they go their separate ways. Only to meet back up again at Louise’s work in a psychiatry office. Where he is her new boss (dun-dun-DUN). Add to this a friendship blossoming between Louise and Adele, his wife, which Adele wishes to keep a secret. Louise starts to question the relationship between Adele and her husband while also trying to maintain her work relationship with him. It becomes clear that Adele is not what she seems, and that her husband is treating her as a patient with medications, scheduled phone calls and locking her in the house. Louise decides to come to the rescue- but does Adele need help?

Louise also has her own emotional and psychological issues, mostly stemming from night terrors she’s had since becoming a mother. A little booze on top of that doesn’t help. Adele offers her a book that helped her through her own night terrors, and through notes in the book margins, Louise finds out even more about Adele, fueling her need to come to Adele’s rescue.

Liberty was correct. I did NOT see that ending coming. I loved it. I know some reviewers blew it off as just an easy out in the last few chapters, but Sarah Pinborough leads you to that ending throughout the book- you just don’t realize it until the end. I think some reviewers are just resentful that they didn’t see it coming or felt tricked. I personally loved it because it was like the feeling you get when hear some salacious gossip and you aren’t sure if you should laugh or feel bad. A total mind-blowing read.

Do it.

