Mary Roach, You’re My Hero

My first taste (pun intended) of Mary Roach was her 2003 book, Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers. Massive envy ensued. As someone who would maybe love to someday maybe write a book maybe, this is what I’d want to write. Something to learn from. Something funny. Something maybe even a little bit useful.

Roach makes me giggle and Google. Search and snicker. I almost wish she included images that she mentions in the book, and yet, that would reduce my Google and search time. I like the little breaks I take to look stuff up further…they are my own reading footnotes to add to her collection of (hilarious) written ones. The only concern is the tangents these Google searches send me on…and on…and on…oh yeah, I was reading a book!

If you’ve never read any of her stuff, check it out here. I’m still a book or (now) two back, but (shhhh!), I have another one being shipped to me as we speak.

Gulp Mary Roach smaller

This particular book, Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal, is on all things gastrointestinal. This is not about food (although food is mentioned in quips and murmurs). It is about the tube that starts at the top of our bodies and ends at the bottom- surrounded by “stuff”, as one of her interviewees states. I love how the book moves in this manner also…teeth, chewing, saliva in the beginning, with the big finish to end it all- poop. And who doesn’t want to know more about poop?!

And the footnotes…gah! They are a book in and of themselves and usually wholly funnier than the actual text-which is pretty damn funny.

Throw in some dog kibble, rumen windows and Elvis, and you got yourself a good time. (rest of my review here.)

This book, as you can see, was read largely on a quiet Friday afternoon, left early from work to enjoy, with Tula and John Snow.Reading Gulp Mary Roach on a friday afternoon

Now, to do something about this noisy borborygmus….

